Honorary Consulate of the Sloval Republic in Pakistan

Travel Introduction

Travelling to The Slovak Republic

The Slovak Republic (or, in short form, Slovakia) is a sovereign state in Central Europe. It has a population of over five million and an area of about 49,000 square kilometres (19,000 sq mi). Slovakia is bordered by the Czech Republic and Austria to the west, Poland to the north, Ukraine to the east and Hungary to the south. The largest city is the capital, Bratislava, and the second largest is Košice. The official language is Slovak, a member of the Slavic language family.

The capital of Slovakia is Bratislava. It spreads along both banks of the Danube River in the extreme south-western part of the country within a short distance from both the Austrian and Hungarian frontiers. There are few cities in Europe with such a privileged and fine setting like Bratislava. Its position on the great European river particularly on the confluence of the Danube and Morava River endows Bratislava with the special atmosphere of a Central European metropolis. 

In spite of being such a small country, Slovakia boasts many diverse natural assets. Tall mountain peaks alternate with deep valleys and gorges. Extensive forests, meadows and pastures form an eye-catching patchwork neighbouring with fertile lowlands; mountain torrents gradually change into calm rivers, all adorned by marvelously rich flora and fauna. There are also extinct volcanoes, canyons, caves and abysses, grand rivers and waterfalls, mineral springs, medicinal, poisonous plants and animals.